Menu and Search (german)

Braunschweig Research Prize

Braunschweig Research Prize awarded to Prof. Dr. Ursula M. Staudinger

Portrait Prof. Dr. Ursula Staudinger (Foto: U. Staudinger)

The psychologist and aging researcher Prof. Dr. Ursula M. Staudinger is to receive the 2014 Braunschweig Research Prize. The prize is in recognition of the 55-year-old’s outstanding research work on the plasticity of the aging process and its consequences for demographic change. Staudinger is currently establishing globally unique interdisciplinary research centre at Columbia University: The Robert N. Butler Columbia Aging Center.

Braunschweig Research Prize


The Braunschweig Research Prize recognises internationally outstanding interdisciplinary research results in technical, life and cultural sciences. A commitment to transfer and the utilisation of science in business and society is prerequisite for the nomination. The City of Braunschweig donates the 30,000 euros in prize money.

The prize is awarded by the City of Braunschweig and the association ForschungRegion Braunschweig e. V. The Braunschweig Research Prize was first awarded in autumn 2007.

Terms and Conditions

Candidates are not allowed to nominate themselves. A Selection Panel nominates researchers, who have been particularly acclaimed because of the interdisciplinary nature of the results of their research and therefore meet the award criteria of the Braunschweig Research Prize. A Jury, consisting of representatives from the fields of science, business, politics and the media, nominates the winner from the candidates suggested by the Selection Panel.


The members of the jury are personalities from science, business, politics and media: Stephan Weil, Premier of the State of Lower Saxony, Prof. Dr. Martin Winterkorn, Chairman of the Board at Volkswagen AG, Prof. Dr. Helga Rübsamen-Schaeff, Managing Director of AiCuris GmbH & Co. KG, Dr. Norbert Lossau, Head of the Science Department at WELT, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr. h.c. Jürgen Hesselbach, President of Braunschweig Technical University and Chairman of ForschungRegion Braunschweig e. V. Chairman of the Jury is Braunschweig’s Mayor Ulrich Markurth.

The Braunschweig Research Prize Award Ceremony

The Braunschweig Research Prize Award Ceremony takes place on 21st November 2014 at Haus der Wissenschaft in Braunschweig.


Stadt Braunschweig
Dezernat für Kultur und Wissenschaft
Dr. Ulf Hilger
Schlossplatz 1
38100 Braunschweig, Germany
Phone +49 (0) 531 4 70 48 52

Press contact

Braunschweig Stadtmarketing GmbH
Juliane Meinecke
Schuhstraße 24
38100 Braunschweig, Germany
Phone +49 (0) 531 4 70 32 40
Fax +49 (0) 531 4 70 44 45

Zu diesem Thema