In the south of Braunschweig, in Wolfenbütteler Straße, there is a historical gem: Richmond Palace and its grounds, the former retreat of the Duchess Augusta (1737/1780-1813). The charming ensemble of buildings comprises a summer palace and adjacent buildings surrounded by an English landscaped park which has been restored to a great extent in recent years. The fantastic view sweeps across ponds, along winding paths and past groves of trees to a small temple in the distance. The palace is particularly worth visiting in May, when the huge rhododendrons are in flower.
The restored palace today serves representative purposes. It is rented to charitable organisations and private organisers and is also used by the Braunschweig Register Office for weddings.
The little palace of Richmond and the neighbouring park were built from 1769 to 1774 and financed from Augusta’s private assets. The park was laid out following a design by the English court gardener Lancelot Brown (carried out from 1768 onwards by court gardener Götze). Palace and park were modelled in the style of Richmond Park in London, Augusta’s home city.
The style of the palace is ambiguous: from the outside, the palace exhibits late baroque forms, with pavilions and rounded corners as well as the French double pilasters. Inside, however, early classicist rooms and paintings can be found.